Discovering London on Foot

Hey Everyone!

During the month of January, I’ve been spending a lot of time researching things to do in Europe. I think the best way to spend our time in Europe is walking around cities, taking a break from snapping pics of “Big Ben,” otherwise known as the Clock Tower,  and look at the city’s culture. What style of clothing people are wearing, what foods they grab during lunch break or what kind of music tends to play at pubs?  It’s great that Brittany will be the person I’m traveling with, because she is not a very touristy/commercial person, so I know she will be even more game than I will be to try to see more than just the tourist attractions.

While I was conducting my research about places in London, I came across the London Walks. For about $15 you can take a two-hour tour in London. You don’t have to make a reservation, and can just show up at the designated location! While you can always find the typical tour that will show you all of the tourist stops, what I like about the London Walks is that they have some pretty cool themed tours.  They have a Jack the Ripper walk, Olympic tours, Brunel’s Thames Tunnel Walks, Ghost Walks, Pub Crawls and even a HARRY POTTER THEMED WALK. I think that is the coolest thing ever since I love the Harry Potter books and movies.  Call me a nerd all you want, I don’t care, but I think it would be pretty awesome to see the building that was filmed as Gringotts Wizard Bank. Who’s with me? (hopefully Brittany!) Check out this sweet video about it here.

Of course Brittany and I are all about saving as much dinero as possible, so it’s also important to note that there are also many free options for tours, like free maps or apps.  One app that I came across was Smartfeet London Tours.  It gives you directions to specific sights, and then either a video or photo along with a paragraph explaining each destination.  Smartfeet also will alert you when you are within 30 meters of a famous landmark.  That way if you’re walking around London, you can take a quick stop and read about the sights around you that you may not have realized had any form of significance.  Did I also mention this app is free?!?!?!

So, I’ve started to realize that there are many different options of seeing a city, whether it’s on our own, or with a tour guide.  I have to say though, London Walks really seems like a good way to go, especially the Harry Potter tour!

Do you have any thoughts about taking tours or choosing to just explore a new city yourself? I’m sure there are pros and cons for both!

Toodaloo!

Kelly

2 responses to “Discovering London on Foot

  1. I think it is a good idea to stay away from the touristy things in London. We did several and found that they really weren’t worth the money. We had the most fun just walking around! I loved the English country side and would have enjoyed spending more time checking out cities outside of London. That said, I would go back to London in a heartbeat!

  2. Just came across your site – so exciting, I’m sure you’ll both have a fantastic time wherever you end up! Just have to say, London Walks are THE BEST (and if you’re a student only $10ish!) Their guides are a wealth of knowledge and I’ve picked up so many fun and fascinating tidbits about areas I used to visit all the time without knowing much of their history. Also, thanks for the Smartfeet tip! Just got an iphone and i knew there had to be something like it but wasn’t sure where to start looking…

Leave a Reply

