Sole Searching

“Since all great journeys start with a single step, you should probably have a cute pair of shoes.”

So this post is about (yep, you guessed it!) shoes! When you’re traveling, you definitely need some quality shoes. I don’t know about you, but I find myself walking pretty much everywhere (it is one of my travel tips after all) so I definitely need something comfy for my feet!

So for the last couple of months I’ve been searching online for shoes and trying on different types of sandals and flats at shoe stores. About two weeks ago, I did a little shopping with my sister, and $145 later, I actually ended up buying two pairs. Originally I was going to get just one pair, but I couldn’t decide on just one. They both were just so comfy and cute that I just went for it. Plus, I figured I would just get two awesome pairs of shoes and just roll with that for the whole trip (plus a pair of flip flops for the shower).

Here are the wonderfully awesome Merrell sandals I got. The other pair, which for some reason I can’t seem to find them anywhere online, are Privo by Clarks that are the color (stone – aka tan) of this shoe and extremely similar in style to this shoe. At any rate, I’m pretty sure they’re going to be amazing for our trip, although I tend to buy shoes and then after wearing them for an hour I wind up with blisters. So I’m going to test them out on my trip to Vegas (for the BEA/NAB Conference!) this week!

I had tried on a few different types of shoes. I knew going into my shoe shopping adventure that I wanted something that had at least a strap behind the ankle. I thought about getting Tevas or Keen sandals since they’re waterproof and pretty durable. But every time I tried a pair on, the strap rubbed against my ankle in just the wrong way. Shoes are different for everyone, so try on different types to really get a sense of what is going to suite you best, and consider any bad experiences you’ve had with shoes in the past!

Others have similar recommendations, and direct readers to particular brands and shoes they think are the best. I read Joanna Goddard’s blog about the best travel shoes, but GOOD GRIEF she wants you to bring a lot of different types of shoes?!?! I understand the idea, if you’re going to the beach try these, if you’re hiking try this pair, but what if you’re doing both of those activities and more? And how about people like Kelly and I who are just taking a backpack’s worth of supplies for our entire summer? It’s not possible to bring four pair of shoes for every occassion. You need to find a pair or two to work for every situation.

Ideally, you really want to go for something that will treat your feet well. As this article in the Chicago Tribune says, the best shoes for traveling are broken in and comfortable. And what do you know? Privo by clarks is on their list of popular walking shoes. I picked out a good one before I even knew it! Score one for me! Or check out these suggestions from flight attendants in an article by the New York Times. But comfort and support aside, everyone wants their shoes to look good. The article mentions that Dansko clogs are great for your feet, but are absolutely hideous. So if you’re not going to wear a pair of shoes because of how ugly they are, then don’t get those either! Find that perfect pair that’s both cute and comfortable!

-Brittany

bf69ac9a9e51cc1efed392d98b20f3ca

Leave a Reply

