With a feather in my hair…or something like that

“Sh*t Happens.”

I felt something wet hit my head, but being in Ireland and all, I thought that maybe, just maybe, it was rain. Then I heard two splats on the ground to my left. I looked down and a wave of disappointment washed over me. It was bird poo. A bird pooped in my hair.

Kelly was sitting on a bench in the park writing in her journal so I thought it would be a good time to take some photos. I had walked over to the bridge that crosses the River Corrib in Galway to take some photos. Literally after I took one photo the incident occured.
image

Stupid seagulls. Or pigeons. Or whatever bird it was.

Anywho, as soon as I realized the dropping had turned out to be one from a bird and not a rain cloud, I slowly turned and walked back toward Kelly. I didn’t feel the back of my head, for fear I would only smush it into my hair even more. I casually strode back so as not to make a scene and draw attention to myself. But meanwhile in my head…

“EW EW EW EW EW EWWWWW! I hope it’s not huge! I hope no one else notices it. This is disgusting. I hope it’s not all over the back of my sweater too. How am I going to get this out of my hair? Ughhhhh WHYYYYYYYYYYYY???????”

When I reached Kelly, I sat down next to her.

“Um, Kell? I think a bird just pooped in my hair”

“Huh, I dont see anything.”

“Are you sure? (As I turn my head farther for her to see more of my head)”

“Oh, wait, there it is.”

Then Kelly was kind enough to help me get it out of my hair. She said it smelled so bad she was gaging. Needless to say, she got it out for the most part, and we defeated our first major problem on our trip (well, major to me anyway). Shout out to Momma Mc for helping us with packing so we had a few supplies to clean my hair with!

Additionally it’s also something we can look back on and laugh at. I now join the list, which includes my dad, of people who’ve had bird do-do in hair. And isnt it supposed to be good luck in Italy? When a bird poops on you? At least that’s what they said in the movie Under the Tuscan Sun. Can anyone clarify this for me?

Now it’s time for me to return to my pint of Guinness and enjoy some music in Galway! Until the next time!

-Britt

2 responses to “With a feather in my hair…or something like that

  1. Pingback: Doolin Rocks | A Quarter, Two Dimes and a Penny·

  2. Pingback: A bit o’ luck | A Quarter, Two Dimes and a Penny·

Leave a Reply

